You are here

Healthcare not Warfare! 2nd National Briefing Call on Global Days of Action on Military Spending

When: Wednesday, March 25, 2020, 8:15 pm to 9:15 pm
Where: online • Boston
ufpj-logo.png fb.pngdonate1.png

gdams.2020_logo.png

Join Shailly Gupta Barnes of the Kairos Center and environmental attorney Mark Dunlea for the second of two national calls on Global Days of Action on Military Spending (GDAMS).      

Wednesday, March 25, 2020  
8:15 – 9:15 pm EDT;  7:15 – 8:15 pm CDT;  6:15 – 7:15 pm MDT;  5:15 – 6:15 pm PDT  
 Click here to register

Lack of preparedness for the COVID-19 epidemic reveals the potentially grave consequences of slashing social safety net spending while deluging the military-industrial complex with our tax dollars. Trump and the Pentagon are pressing yet another massive increase in military spending. Critics from Washington think tanks working with the Poor People’s Campaign, reinforced by grassroots activists across the country are demanding that money be moved from wars and preparations for wars to addressing our urgent human needs: health, climate, housing, education and more.

GDAMS 2020 will take place from April 10 – May 9. We hope that you will consider organizing a local event. To help you prepare for this year’s GDAMS and for longer term efforts to change our national spending priorities, we have scheduled an inspiring briefing call featuring these two leading authorities on military spending and alternatives.

Shailly Gupta Barnes is the Policy Director at the Kairos Center. She coordinated and edited the Souls of Poor Folk: Auditing America report for the Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival, working closely with the Institute for Policy Studies. This report looked at the evolution of the key themes of the Campaign over the past 50 years and its findings informed the current Campaign’s Moral Agenda and Demands. Read more about the Souls of Poor Folk and Moral Agenda at poorpeoplescampaign.org.

Mark Dunlea is an attorney associated with the National Lawyers Guild, was a co-founder the Green Party in New York. He is a leading climate change activist with 350.org, and news correspondent for WOOC Radio who speaks widely about the Green New Deal. He formerly served as executive director of the Hunger Action Network of New York State and has run for Congress.

Click here to register for the March 25 briefing call.

Click here to listen to a recording of the March 19 GDAMS briefing call featuring Lindsay Koshgarian of the National Priorities Project and Bill Hartung with the Center for International Policy.

Click here to read Bill Hartung’s new Pentagon Spending: A Primer.

Trumps_FY21_budget.JPG

Filed under: