You are here

UFPJ: For Truth and Reparations

ufpj-logo.png fb.pngdonate1.png

Four hundred years ago, in 1619, the first Africans were brought to the North American continent. The time has come for reparations. While there are different narratives of what reparations could be, spirituality, healing, and system change must be at the center of this conversation.

Discussion of reparations is spreading quickly in both the public square and the private living room: from the rhetoric of aspiring presidential candidates, to op-eds in national media, to commemorations of historic events that have sparked our social and political consciousness.

This is a sea-change opportunity: how will you participate? Given the unwillingness of our national government to address slavery and its impact, the Fellowship of Reconciliation, one of UFPJ’s founding members, co-created the FOR Truth and Reparations campaign along withthe Truth Telling Project (TTP), Restorative Justice for Oakland Youth (RJOY), Coming to the Table (CTTT), and representatives from the National Coalition of Blacks for Reparations in America (N’COBRA).

Register now to join one of two upcoming informational calls this month:

· Thursday, April 18th at 1:00 p.m. EST (10:00 a.m. PST)

· Tuesday, April 23rd at 7:00 p.m. EST (4:00 p.m. PST)

Organizations are invited to endorse the campaign and join this movement.

Filed under: