You are here

UFPJ webinar: Global Days of Action on Military Spending

When: Thursday, March 14, 2019, 8:00 pm to 9:00 pm
Where: online webinar • Boston

Join Lindsay Koshgarian of the National Priorities Project and Bill Hartung of the Center for International Policy for UFPJ’s second national call on the Global Days of Action on Military Spending (GDAMS).

Thursday, March 14, 2019
8 – 9 pm EDT    7 – 8 pm CDT    6 – 7 pm MDT   5 – 6 pm PDT

Call-in number: (712) 775-7035
Participant code: 495518

Please register for the call by sending a message to JGerson@afsc.org

With Trump and the Pentagon pressing for massive increases in military spending, grassroots activists, national organizations and policy analysts MUST move the money from wars and preparations for wars to addressing real human needs.  As we prepare for this year's GDAMS actions, surrounding Tax Day, from April 13 to May 9, and for longer term efforts to change our national spending priorities, UFPJ has scheduled an inspiring call with two leading authorities on military spending and alternatives on Thursday 14.

Lindsay Koshgarian: Lindsay's work and commentary on the federal budget and military spending has appeared on NPR, the BBC, CNN, The Nation, U.S. News and World Report, and others. At NPP, her work is at the intersection of military and domestic federal spending. Read her recent analysis here. Lindsay got her start as a clinic worker and organizer at Planned Parenthood in central and suburban Philadelphia, and led economic development and affordable housing studies at the University of Massachusetts Donahue Institute prior to joining NPP in 2014.

Bill Hartung: Bill is director of the Arms and Security Project at the Center for International Policy. He has also served as a Senior Research Fellow in the New America Foundation’s American Strategy Program, and is former director of the Arms Trade Resource Center at the World Policy Institute. He specializes in issues of weapons proliferation, the economics of military spending, and alternative approaches to national security strategy. Bill was the director of the Arms and Security Initiative at the New America Foundation. Prior to that, he served as the director of the Arms Trade Resource Center at the World Policy Institute. He also worked as a speechwriter and policy analyst for New York State Attorney General Robert Abrams.

 

Filed under: