Join a UJP Community Group

Join a Community Group!

Local community PEACE AND JUSTICE groups are the heart and soul of UJP. They are the key to building a strong grassroots movement. There are nearly 60 community groups in the greater Boston region. These local groups work closely with the larger UJP coalition - and also organize events and actions independently. They hold community forums, organize letter writing campaigns, organize vigils and much more.They are a presence for peace in their communities.

The community groups hold a monthly brunch where folks from all the communities can meet and network. For the brunch schedule, to start a new group, or to chat!, Please contact a member of the UJP Community Outreach committee:

 

Below is a list of communities with groups which are working with the UJP network. If you live in or near one of these groups, you can get in touch with the contact person and find out how you can be involved!

Community Groups in UJP network

ACTON

see Concord

ARLINGTON

Arlington United for Justice with Peace

Thea Paneth: tpaneth@gmail.com

Susan Lees: swlees@earthlink.net

Website: www.arlingtonujp.org, justicewithpeace.org/community-groups/arlingtonujp

General Email: arlingtonujp@yahoo.com

BOLTON/HARVARD

Nashoba Valley Peace and Justice

Pat Westwater-Jong: westwaterp@gmail.com


BOSTON/SOUTH

South Boston Residents for Peace

Kate Flahety kflahety@aol.com

Theresa Kane tkumass@aol.com

BRIDGEWATER

Citizens for an Informed Community (Bridgewater, Taunton, Brockton, Easton, West Bridgewater, Halifax)

Pat McSweeney patmcs1@juno.com

Howard Hayward cloudfactory@comcast.net

Vernon Domingo: vdomingo@bridgew.edu

Website www.geocities.com/informedcommunity

General E-mail Letsexamine@hotmail.com

BROCKTON

see Bridgewater

BROOKLINE

Brookline Peaceworks

Amy Hendrickson: amyh@texnology.com

CAMBRIDGE

Cambridge United for Justice with Peace

Eleanor Duckworth: duckwoel@gse.harvard.edu

Vicky Steinitz: vicky.steinitz@gmail.com

CAPE COD

Cape Codders for Peace and Justice

David Agnew: ccpj@earthlink.net

Diane Turco: tturco@comcast.net

Website: www.capecodpeaceandjustice.org

CHELSEA

Chelsea Uniting Against The War

John Harris john.r.harris@verizon.net

CONCORD

Grassroots Actions for Peace

Carol Dwyer: cdwyer3@msn.com

Website: www.grassrootsconcord.org

DORCHESTER

Dorchester People for Peace

Mike Prokosch: mikeprokosch@verizon.net

FRAMINGHAM (and Metrowest)

Metrowest Peace Action

Carol Coakley: coakley50@earthlink.net

Website: www.metrowestpeaceaction.org

GLOUCESTER

Janet Mullen: jmullenus@aol.com

HARVARD

(See Bolton/Harvard)

HOLLISTON

See Natick

LEXINGTON

Arlington-Lexington United for Justice with Peace

Linda Schiffman: lindaschiffman@gmail.com  

LINCOLN

A Lincoln contact is Jane Cooper

ecrawleycooper@aol.com

LOWELL

Greater Lowell for Peace and Justice

Lenore Azaroff Lenore_Azaroff@uml.edu

Lynne Lupien: lynne@leftinlowell.com

John Reynolds: jreynolds1122@yahoo.com


Web site: www.greaterlowellpeace.org

MALDEN/MELROSE

Malden Area Communities Against War

Weimin tchen gobeiltchen@verizon.net

MARBLEHEAD

Marblehead Peace Committee

MERRIMACK VALLEY

Merrimack Valley People for Peace

Bobbie Goldman: bg@comcast.net

Kathy Robinson:  krobinson@steffian.com

Richard Hudak: macpanther@mac.com

Website: www.merrimackvalleypeopleforpeace.org/

METROWEST

Metrowest Peace Action: members of Metrowest Peace Action include

Framingham, Holliston, Millis, Natick, Sherborn, Walpole, Wayland, Weston and Westborough

Carol Coakley: coakley50@earthlink.net

MILTON

Milton for Peace (MFP)

Maggie Constan: maggieconstan@msn.com

Web site: www.miltonforpeace.eboard.com

General E-mail: miltonforpeace2@yahoo.com

NATICK

Natick Peace and Justice Vigil

Kim Nguyen:  kimnguyn@hotmail.com

NEEDHAMNEEDHAM

An interfaith group meets on the first and third Saturdays from 4:00 until 4:45 for a Peace Vigil in Needham Center.  

Sue Fleming: sdfleming@verizon.net

NEWBURYPORT

Barbara Haack: barhaack@verizon.net

NEWTON

Newton Dialogues on Peace and War

Ann Glick: aglick@hotmail.com

Susan Mirsky: smirsky@comcast.net

Website: www.newtondialog.org

NORTH SHORE

North Shore Coalition for Peace and Justice

barhaack@verizon.net

General Email: noshorepeaceandjustice@yahoogroups.com

QUINCY

Marie Miller marieljm1961@yahoo.com

READING

Reading People for Peace

Bob Connor: rpcnow@yahoo.com

Carol Whiting:

Larry Piper: lgpiper@ReadingPeace.org

Website: http://ReadingPeace.org

BLOG: http://readingpeace.posterous.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/readingpeace

Facebook: http://facebook.com/ReadingPeace

SALEM

Salem Peace Committee

SOMERVILLE/MEDFORD

Somerville/Medford United for Justice with Peace

Abby Yanow: abbyyanow@hotmail.com

Kate Cloud: kcloud@rcn.com

Duncan McFarland: mcfarland13@gmail.com
 

TAUNTON

Pat McSweeny (Citizens for an Informed Community): patmcs1@juno.com

Nancy Lee Wood: nleewood@netzero.net

Also see Bridgewater

WALPOLE

Walpole Peace and Justice Group

Philip Czachorowski: p.czach@verizon.net

WALTHAM

Waltham Concerned Citizens

Gene Burkhart EBJ267@aol.com

Jim Mniece: jmniece@yahoo.com

Website: www.walthamconcernedcitizens.org

WATERTOWN

Justice with Peace Task Force/Watertown Citizens for Environmental Safety

Tony Palomba: wces@rcn.com

Lois Mastrangelo: lmastrangelo@verizon.net

Website: www.watertowncitizens.org

WESTBORO

Westboro Patriots for Peace

WESTON

Weston Dialogues for Peace and Justice

Isabella Jancourtz: isabellajancourtz@yahoo.com

WILMINGTON

Bobbie Goldman: bg@comcast.net

See Merrimack Valley

RHODE ISLAND

www.ristopwar.org

 

Filed under: