Join a UJP Community Group

 

Join a Community Group!

Local community PEACE AND JUSTICE groups are the heart and soul of UJP. They are the key to building a strong grassroots movement. There are nearly 60 community groups in the greater Boston region. These local groups work closely with the larger UJP coalition - and also organize events and actions independently. They hold community forums, organize letter writing campaigns, organize vigils and much more.They are a presence for peace in their communities.

The community groups hold a monthly brunch where folks from all the communities can meet and network. For the brunch schedule, to start a new group, or to chat!, Please contact a member of the UJP Community Outreach committee:

 

Below is a list of communities with groups which are working with the UJP network. If you live in or near one of these groups, you can get in touch with the contact person and find out how you can be involved!

 

Community Groups in UJP network

ARLINGTON

Arlington United for Justice with Peace

Thea Paneth:tpaneth@gmail.com

Website: justicewithpeace.org/community-groups/arlingtonujp

General Email: arlingtonujp@yahoo.com

 

BOLTON/HARVARD

Nashoba Valley Peace and Justice

Pat Westwater-Jong: westwaterp@gmail.com


 

 BRIDGEWATER

Citizens for an Informed Community (Bridgewater, Taunton, Brockton, Easton, West Bridgewater, Halifax)

Pat McSweeney patmcs1@juno.com

Fran Jeffries francesjeffries_1@msn.com

 

BROOKLINE

Brookline Peaceworks

Amy Hendrickson: amyh@texnology.com

 

CAMBRIDGE

Cambridge United for Justice with Peace

Eleanor Duckworth: duckwoel@gse.harvard.edu

Vicky Steinitz: vicky.steinitz@gmail.com

 

CAPE COD

Cape Codders for Peace and Justice

David Agnew: ccpj@earthlink.net

Diane Turco: tturco@comcast.net

Website: www.capecodpeaceandjustice.org

 

CHELSEA

Chelsea Uniting Against The War

John Harris john.r.harris@verizon.net

 

DORCHESTER

Dorchester People for Peace

Jack Snyder jack_snyder_bos@yahoo.com

Becky Pierce beckyp44@verizon.net

Sydney Miller sydsail@gmail.com

 

FRAMINGHAM (and Metrowest)

Metrowest Peace Action

Carol Coakley: coakley50@earthlink.net

Website: www.metrowestpeaceaction.org

 

HARVARD

(See Bolton/Harvard)

 

LEXINGTON

Arlington-Lexington United for Justice with Peace

Linda Schiffman: lindaschiffman@gmail.com  

 

LOWELL

Greater Lowell for Peace and Justice

Lynne Lupien: lynne@leftinlowell.com

John Reynolds: jreynolds1122@yahoo.com

Web site: www.greaterlowellpeace.org

 

MERRIMACK VALLEY

Merrimack Valley People for Peace

Brian Quirk: (978) 685-1389

Website: www.merrimackvalleypeopleforpeace.org/

 

METROWEST

Metrowest Peace Action: members of Metrowest Peace Action include

Framingham, Holliston, Millis, Natick, Sherborn, Walpole, Wayland, Weston and Westborough

Carol Coakley: coakley50@earthlink.net

 

MILTON

Milton for Peace (MFP)

Maggie Constan: maggieconstan@hotmail.com

Web site: www.miltonforpeace.eboard.com

General E-mail: miltonforpeace2@yahoo.com

 

NEEDHAM

An interfaith group meets on the first and third Saturdays from 4:00 until 4:45 for a Peace Vigil in Needham Center.  

Sue Fleming: sdfleming@verizon.net

 

NEWBURYPORT

Barbara Haack: barhaack@verizon.net

 

NEWTON

Newton Dialogues on Peace and War

Jane Brown gbjonah@aol.com

Susan Mirsky: smirsky@comcast.net

Website: www.newtondialog.org

 

NORTH SHORE

North Shore Coalition for Peace and Justice

Sunny Robinson sun.beams@verizon.net

General Email: noshorepeaceandjustice@yahoogroups.com

 

READING

Reading People for Peace

Carol Whiting: crwhit99@aol.com

Larry Piper: lgpiper@ReadingPeace.org

Website: http://readingpeace.tumblr.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/readingpeace

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ReadingPeopleForPeace

 

SALEM

Salem Peace Committee

Clare Ritchie: boocal@comcast.net

 

TAUNTON

Pat McSweeny (Citizens for an Informed Community): patmcs1@juno.com

Nancy Lee Wood: nleewood@netzero.net

 

WALPOLE

Walpole Peace and Justice Group

Philip Czachorowski: p.czach@verizon.net

 

WATERTOWN

Justice with Peace Task Force/Watertown Citizens for Environmental Safety

Tony Palomba:  watertowncitizens@gmail.com

 Website: www.watertowncitizens.org

 

WESTON

Weston Dialogues for Peace and Justice

Isabella Jancourtz: isabellajancourtz@yahoo.com

 

updated 3/24/2015 

 

Filed under: